Friday 26th Apr 2019 - Logistics Manager Magazine

Lifetime award for Johnson

Derek W. Johnson MBE from Johnson Stevens Agencies has won the British International Freight Association’s Lifetime Achievement Award for making a significant contribution to the world of logistics and transport, also taking account of his overall contribution to society in general.

The award was sponsored by the Bernard Group. The judges felt that the breadth of his interests, in particular his support of the freight forwarding sector and his influence over many years at the highest level of government, fully justified their recognition of his achievements.

The winners of the Freight Service Awards 2007 were revealed at BIFA’s annual lunch in London.

The Air Freight Award, sponsored by British Airways World Cargo, was won by Schenker.

The Uniserve Group collected the Deep Sea Award, pipping Chaucer Freight and Ideal Forwarding, the other finalists in this category, to the post.

The European Logistics Award, sponsored by Wincanton, was won by Ital Logistics.

In the Project Forwarding category, Premier Showfreight triumphed. The Project Forwarding Award was sponsored by Ruslan International.

Sponsored by BoxTop Technologies, the Special Services Award was won by Wincanton.

Four companies made the final shortlist for the Supply Chain Management Award, sponsored by TT Club, with APL Logistics coming out on top.

JF Hillebrand UK won the Training & Staff Development Award, which was sponsored by Maersk Line.

This year’s Young Freight Forwarder Award, sponsored by Johnson Stevens Agencies, was won by Eve Gogarty from Worldwide Energy Logistics.