Is your logistics operation a winner?

LinkedIn +

Does your logistics operation have the potential to be an award winner? One of the most fiercely fought categories in the European Supply Chain Excellence Awards is that for Logistics and Distribution.

Last year, a record number of companies made the shortlist, highlighting the quality of the entries in this category.

[asset_ref id=”760″]

The Awards, organised by Supply Chain Standard in partnership with consultancy PRTM, are the gold standard for supply chain operations in Europe attracting entries from the world’s leading manufacturers, retailers and supply chain specialists.

However, two entries were considered outstanding by the judges: Carlsberg UK in partnership with Gist, and Ikea franchisee Fourlis Group.

Brewing company, Carlsberg UK, has forged a close working relationship with its logistics service provider, Gist, serving an integrated supply chain covering operations that run from three sites in Northampton and two in Leeds.

Over the past 18 months a range of initiatives – involving Gist in broadening its role and responsibility – has resulted in increased customer service while achieving a ten per cent reduction in cost.

Ultimately though, the judges thought the entry from Ikea franchisee Fourlis Group had the edge.

The company has invested heavily in a highly automated and flexible warehouse facility in Greece, providing efficient warehouse services for the whole of south east Europe. The company has adopted automation, with manual fall-back, to reduce labour costs and improve productivity. Container emptying has been optimised using a three-line rail link from the port and the building has the capacity to take 50 wagons. In addition, meticulous attention has been paid to workflow improvements, monitoring staff performance and motivating the workforce.

What makes the Awards unique is a stringent judging process which focuses on performance against five core disciplines of supply chain.

The awards are presented at a glittering dinner at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel before an audience of more than 450 industry leaders. This year the dinner will take place on Thursday 18th November.

The awards are split into a number of categories – sector awards covering the key areas of trade and industry, and business process awards that recognise excellence in specific supply chain functions.

Last year more than 60 companies were shortlisted for the awards. Telefónica O2 UK picked up the trophy for overall winner by demonstrating an outstanding level of performance across the five core disciplines of strategic supply chain management.

The Individual Achievement Awards went to Peter Surtees, European supply chain director – consumer products at Kimberly-Clark for his work on developing collaborative operations with Kelloggs and Unilever.



The Industry Sector Awards recognise excellence in organisation and management of a complete supply chain. Entries are scored on the five core disciplines of: supply chain strategy; processing systems architecture; supply chain organisation; performance management; and collaboration.

Aerospace, Defence, Industrial and Automotive
Manufacturers of aircraft, defence equipment and heavy engineering projects, such as electric generating plant, automotive, gas equipment.

Consumer & Retail
This category has been created by merging Fashion, Apparel & Luxury Goods and Grocery & General Retail together.

Hi Tech, Communications & Electronics
Telecoms and manufacturers of electronics goods, such as mobile telephones, computers, televisions, and hi-tech equipment.

Pharmaceuticals, Health and Personal Care
Manufacturers and suppliers of medicines, both prescription and over the counter. Health supplements and related products, personal care products such as toiletries and beauty brands.

Public Sector, Services & Utilities
Government bodies and departments, civil service, city councils, service companies, health authorities and hospitals, charities, railway companies, maintenance companies, utilities such as the water, electricity and gas companies.


The Special Category Awards differ from the Industry Sector Awards in that they recognise excellence in the implementation of a specific project.

Customer Service & Support
Projects that can demonstrate an improvement in customer service /support through more effective management of the supply chain.

Environmental Improvement
Projects that reduce carbon footprints or use resources more efficiently.

Logistics & Fulfilment
Projects that improve the efficiency or reduce the costs of a specific logistics operation or contribute to an overall improvement to supply chain performance.

Sourcing & Procurement
Projects to improve the performance of the procurement function through innovation and/or more effective management of the process.

IT Innovation
IT focused projects that demonstrate how the organisation is driving change by the adoption of new, innovative supply chain practice.

Supply Chain Innovation & Improvement
Projects that demonstrate how the organisation is driving change by the adoption of new, innovative supply chain practice.


Individual Contribution
This award cannot be entered. The winner is voted for by readers of Logistics Manager following nominations from the industry.

Team of the Year
The winner of this category is chosen from entries received for both Industry Sector and Special Category awards.

To enter you first need to register at the Awards web site. You can then download an entry form and start the entry process.

If you want to find out what it took to be a winner last year, there is a section on the web site with articles on all the current category champions as well as the overall winners.

The deadline for entries is Friday, 4th June 2010. To find out more and download an entry form, visit the Awards web site:


Share this story: