Scania unveils Euro 6 engines

LinkedIn +

Scania says it is now ready to start delivering trucks with engines that comply with the Euro 6 emission standards which come into force on 31 December 2013.

It has unveiled 440 and 480 hp 13-litre Euro 6 engines mainly intended for long-haulage, but also suitable for other types of applications.

Martin Lundstedt, executive vice president in charge of sales and marketing, said:
“The new engines are designed to give the same performance and fuel efficiency as their Euro 5 counterparts.”

Scania has combined a range of technologies including: exhaust gas recirculation, variable turbo geometry, common-rail high-pressure fuel injection, selective catalytic reduction and particulate filtering.

“Add to that our own engine and exhaust management technology, which has now been integrated into one system”, said Jonas Hofstedt, senior vice president Powertrain Development.

The development of the new engine generation and the technology to meet future emission legislation has taken five years and involves costs for Scania of approximately SEK 10 billion.

Euro 6 emission standards will enter into force in the European Union and certain neighbouring countries on 31 December 2012 for new vehicle models and one year later for all new vehicles sold.

The following emission levels apply:

* Nitrogen oxides: 0.4 g/kWh (2 g/kWh for Euro 5).

* Particulate matter: 0.01 g/kWh (0.02/0.03 depending on test cycle for Euro 5).

* Particulate count: 600 billion particles per kWh (transient test cycle). 800 billion particles per kWh (stationary test cycle).

(One kWh corresponds to the energy consumed in about 30 seconds of driving for a 40-tonne combination at highway speed. There is no counting requirement for Euro 5, but the reduction in the number of particulates is likely to be around 99 per cent.)

Euro 6 is the first step towards the implementation of world harmonised emission standards, encompassing Europe, North America and Japan, and this will facilitate coordination and development for future standards.

The Euro 6 levels are close to those applying in North America (EPA10) and Japan (Post NLT) starting in 2010. Euro 6 is the first time the new WHDC (world harmonised duty cycle) is stipulated for certification.

Share this story: