Finalists named for MAN everywoman awards

LinkedIn +

The finalists of the MAN everywoman in Transport and Logistics Awards have been announced.

The awards look to recognise women who have made a significant contribution to the transport and logistics industry, an area which is traditionally dominated by men.

Maxine Benson, co-founder and director of everywoman, said: “While the current economic downturn is affecting numerous sectors, many women are looking at alternative careers, and the transport and logistics sector is an area that offers huge opportunities for those wanting to make their mark.”

The finalists for each category are as follows:

The Warehousing Award
Susanna Patton, Logistics Manager, Karndean International Ltd
Loraine Greening, Senior Manager, Operations, FedEx Express
Sarah Ranshaw, Site Depot Manager, Norbert Dentressangle

Commercial Driver of the Year Award
Caroline Pugh, HGV driver and crane operator, Pugh’s Haulage Ltd
Melissa Young, HGV Driver, mh young ltd
Michelle Cubbin, Low Load Driver,  J. Mallinson (Ormskirk) ltd

Director of the Year Award
Elaine Miller, Operations Director, Wincanton’s container logistics business
Mandy Bennett, Director, Chaucer Freight Limited
Vicki Davenport, Sales and Commercial Director, The Pink Link Ltd

Industry Trainer of the Year Award
Tracey Rayner, Training Officer, Signals Division, Defence School of Transport
Lesley Howe, Classroom Driving Instructor, System Group Ltd
Joe Thorp, Training Manager, London Underground
Rising Star of the Year Award
Rachel Beeken, Logistics Manager, Gist
Claire Hall, Communications Manager, Kuehne + Nagel
Tricia Madge, Performance Manager, Transport for London

Team of the Year Award
Karen Vernon, Company Director, Stalkers Transport Services Ltd
Sharon Hignett, General Manager, DHL Supply Chain
Nina Hart, Transport and Warehouse Manager, Simarco International Ltd

Des Evans, chief executive of MAN Truck and Bus UK, added: “It is a great pleasure for MAN Truck & Bus UK to be sponsoring the everywoman in Transport and Logistics Awards for the second year in a row. Once again the calibre of this year’s finalists is very high and I have little doubt that each finalist will go on to fulfil a pivotal role with her organisation. Certainly the achievements of each of them will inspire ambition within other women working in the industry.”

The winners will be announced at a luncheon ceremony at the Marriott Grosvenor Square in London on Thursday 14th May 2009.

Share this story: