It’s the innovators that win the plaudits

LinkedIn +

The rapid development in supply chain thinking over the past few years makes this one of the most innovative of all industry sectors. And that is reflected in the fact that, over the years, many of the most exciting entries in the European Supply Chain Excellence Awards have been for innovation.

In judging the awards last year the judges said: “To be innovative an idea has to be more than just novel or different, it has to involve a step change in creativity; it has to deliver a method, technology or process that is unique for that sector. In some instances it may be the innovative application of a known technology or perhaps, the transfer of innovative technology from one sector to another. For certain, creativity is an essential ingredient in the mix.”

Last year five contenders made the shortlist for the Supply Chain Innovation Award: BT Supply Chain, DHL Exel Supply Chain, Guy’s & St Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust, Hewlett Packard CDS and Kimberly-Clark.

Ultimately the award went to Guy’s & St Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust which had not only been focusing on gaining control over basic supply chain practices but also introducing a totally new automated replenishment system in theatre as part of the supply chain network.

Now we are looking for the innovators of 2009. There is everything to play for in the 2009 European Supply Chain Excellence Awards organised by Supply Chain Standard in partnership with consultancy PRTM.

The awards web site is open and the deadline for entries is 5th June so there are just a few weeks to prepare your entry.

The awards are split into a number of categories – sector awards covering the key areas of trade and industry, and business process awards that recognise excellence in specific supply chain functions.

Industry Sector Awards

* Automotive, Aerospace and Industrial

* Fashion, Apparel and Luxury Goods

* Grocery and General Retail

* Hi-Tech, Communications and Electronics

* Public Sector, Services and Utilities

* Pharmaceuticals, Health and Personal Care

Business Process Awards

* Environmental Improvement

* Logistics and Fulfilment

* Sourcing and Procurement

* Supply Chain Innovation and Improvement

* Customer Service and Support

Recognition Awards

* Team of the Year

* Individual Contribution

The awards are presented at a glittering dinner at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel before an audience of more than 450 industry leaders. This year the dinner will take place on 12th November.

To enter you first need to register at the Awards web site. You can then download an entry form and start the entry process. You can also find out more about the companies that won Awards last year. The web site address is:

Share this story: