Logistics manager wins woman of the year award

LinkedIn +

Joanna Davies, logistics manager for Advance Uranium Asset Management, has been named “woman of the year” at the 2011 MAN everywoman in transport and logistics awards.

The winners were announced at a ceremony in the Savoy today, hosted by the co-founders of everywoman, Karen Gill and Maxine Benson.

The panel of judges reckon that Davies’ vision, innovative approach and success make her an outstanding role model, encouraging more women to choose a career in transport and logistics.

Davies was recruited by Unilever as their first European logistics graduate trainee, and has also worked for companies including Wincanton and Tesco.  She joined Advance Uranium Asset management in 2009 and is now oversees operations and compliance. 

She is also regional vice-chairman of the CILT, where she fosters links between academia and industry, and mentors women in the industry.

The awards were presented by rally driver and TV presenter Penny Mallory, and Des Evans CEO of MAN also spoke and presented awards. 

The other award winners were:

Rising star of the year
Abby Taylor, Cycle hire expansion project mnanager, Transport for London

Commercial driver of the year
Linda Ferguson, driver, Yodel

Director of the year
Jane Gorick, managing director, LPR UK

Warehousing award
Valerie Morris-Cook, general manager, Wincanton

Industry trainer of the year
Katie Bratton, HGV driver/trainer, ASDA

Green champion of the year
Annie Knell, regional environment lead, Royal Mail

Team of the year
Debbie Palmer, general manager, DHL Supply Chain – Unilever Contract

[asset_ref id=”1166″]

L-r: Linda Ferguson, Maxine Benson, Abby Taylor, Valerie Morris-Cook, Joanna Davies, Des Evans, Annie Knell, Katie Bratton, Debbie Palmer, Jane Gorick, Penny Malory and Karen Gill.

* A new transport and logistics leadership academy was also announced at the awards.  The academy’s  inaugural session will be on 22nd June at Royal Mail, Coton House, Rugby.


Share this story: