European Supply Chain Excellence Awards open for entries

LinkedIn +

How do you measure up against the best supply chains in Europe? It’s time to find out with The European Supply Chain Excellence Awards 2012.

Chemical giant BASF took the top award in 2012 after an exhaustive judging process. “It’s a great honour,” said Arno Bingemann, vice president planning processes at BASF. “I’m a representative of 800 people who have worked very hard for three years to change the company and globally harmonise processes. It makes us proud that the project was so successful and to be awarded for our hard work.”

[asset_ref id=”1552″]

And Alan Waller, who took the individual award, declared: “I’m overwhelmed.” Waller, international president of the Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport and chairman of ELUPEG, said “This is for all the networks I work with. This is collaboration in action.”

BASF joins an illustrious list of companies that have won Europe’s most prestigious supply chain award including: Telefonica, Dell, Sainsbury’s, Vodafone, Primark, Coca-Cola, Marks & Spencer, Cisco Systems and GlaxoSmithKline.

The 2011 awards broke all records – more entries, and more companies making it to the shortlist than ever before. Demand for tickets to the Awards dinner has grown year on year, so that last year it had to be moved to a larger venue – the London Hilton.

[asset_ref id=”1553″] Learn about winning supply chains

The European Supply Chain Excellence Awards are organised by Supply Chain Standard in partnership with PwC’s PRTM Management Consulting. They are unique in the depth of analysis involved in the judging process, which in turn makes them uniquely worth winning.

There are two main groups of awards.

The Industry Sector Awards recognise excellence in organisation and management of a complete supply chain. Entries are scored on the five core disciplines of: supply chain strategy; processing systems architecture; supply chain organisation; performance management; and collaboration.

The Special Category Awards differ from the Industry Sector Awards in that they recognise excellence in the implementation of a specific project.

There are also three Recognition Awards which are decided by the Judges.


Industry Sector Awards
* Automotive, aerospace & industrial
* Consumer products
* Hi-Tech, communications & electronics
* Public sector, services & utilities
* Retail

Special Category Awards
* Customer service & support
* Innovation in supply chain practice
* Innovation in use of technology
* Innovation in fulfilment
* Logistics strategy
* Logistics operations
* Sourcing & procurement
* Environment: climate change
* Environment: recycling
* Training & professional  development
* Strategic use of property

Recognition Awards
* Individual contribution
* Team of the year
* Overall winner

Entry into the Awards is free – the deadline is Friday 8th June 2012.
Register and download an entry form at
For more information contact:
Dan Stone,  E:

Share this story: