WEEE directive comes into force

LinkedIn +

The long awaited WEEE Directive came into force on the 2nd January 2007. The European Union directive is designed to ensure that electrical and electronic products are recycled properly when they reach the end of their lives.

Producers of goods covered by the directive must join a compliance scheme by 15 March 2007. Producers have to mark electrical and electronic equipment by 1 April 2007.

Full responsibility for treating and recycling household WEEE begins on 1 July 2007.

There are ten categories of WEEE:

1. Large household appliances .
2. Small household appliances.
3. IT and telecommunications equipment.
4. Consumer equipment.
5. Lighting equipment.
6. Electrical and electronic tools.
7. Toys, leisure and sports equipment.
8. Medical devices.
9. Monitoring and control equipment.
10. Automatic dispensers.

The WEEE Regulations apply to electrical and electronic equipment in the above categories with a voltage of up to 1,000 volts AC or up to 1,500 volts DC.

Share this story: