Are you doing your bit for the environment?

LinkedIn +

Some of the most exciting developments in supply chain over the past couple of years have come through organisations’ efforts at environmental improvement. And that has been reflected in the growing number of excellent entries in the European Supply Chain Excellence Awards.

Now, the search is on for the companies that have done most to improve their environmental performance for the 2010 Awards.

Last year the great bulk of entries for this Award centred on the reduction of carbon emissions achieved through cutting road transport and travel – using networks more intelligently and entering into collaborative arrangements to share transport and reduce empty mileage. However, there were two entries which really stood out, for the breadth, approach and dedication to environmental improvement.

Drinks company C&C Group was highly commended for displaying continuous improvement in environmental performance through concentrating efforts on areas of greatest impact including an anaerobic waste water treatment plant and carbon footprint analysis..

But the award went to automobile shipping line Wallenius Wilhelmsen Logistics. “This company is shaping its industry sector with its environmental initiatives and its dedication to the welfare of the planet,” said the judges. Between 2001 and 2008 the company cut its SO2 emissions by a dramatic 121,293 tonnes – a 35 per cent reduction. With regards to CO2, in 2008 the company cut CO2 emissions in grams per tonne kilometre by 6.9 per cent compared to 2007 and has achieved an 18.2 per cent reduction since 2004 – well in advance of industry standards.

The Awards, organised by Supply Chain Standard in partnership with consultancy PRTM, are the gold standard for supply chain operations in Europe attracting entries from the world’s leading manufacturers, retailers and supply chain specialists.

What makes the Awards unique is a stringent judging process which focuses on performance against five core disciplines of supply chain.

The awards are presented at a glittering dinner at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel before an audience of more than 450 industry leaders. This year the dinner will take place on Thursday 18th November.

The awards are split into a number of categories – sector awards covering the key areas of trade and industry, and business process awards that recognise excellence in specific supply chain functions.

Last year more than 60 companies were shortlisted for the awards. Telefónica O2 UK picked up the trophy for overall winner by demonstrating an outstanding level of performance across the five core disciplines of strategic supply chain management.

The Individual Achievement Awards went to Peter Surtees, European supply chain director – consumer products at Kimberly-Clark for his work on developing collaborative operations with Kelloggs and Unilever.


Industry Sector Awards
The Industry Sector Awards recognise excellence in organisation and management of a complete supply chain. Entries are scored on the five core disciplines of: supply chain strategy; processing systems architecture; supply chain organisation; performance management; and collaboration.

Automotive, Aerospace & Industrial
Who should enter: Manufacturers of aircraft, defence equipment, motor vehicles and components, heavy engineering projects, such as electric generating plant, gas equipment.

Healthcare and Consumer Products
Who should enter: Manufacturers of consumer goods, healthcare products and pharmaceuticals.

Hi Tech, Communications & Electronics
Who should enter: Telecoms and manufacturers of electronics goods, such as mobile telephones, computers, televisions, and hi-tech equipment.

Public Sector, Services & Utilities
Who should enter: Government bodies and departments, civil service, city councils, service companies, health authorities and hospitals, charities, railway companies, maintenance companies, utilities such as the water, electricity and gas companies.

Who should enter: Retail supply chains including major multiples, department stores, fashion, hardware, electronics, and grocery.

Special Category Awards
The Special Category Awards differ from the Industry Sector Awards in that they recognise excellence in the implementation of a specific project.

Contribution to Environmental Improvement
What are the judges looking for? Projects that reduce carbon footprints, or use resources more efficiently and minimise waste.

Customer Service & Support
What are the judges looking for? Projects that can demonstrate an improvement in customer service /support through more effective management of the supply chain.

Logistics & Distribution
What are the judges looking for? Projects that demonstrate an improvement in the efficiency of a logistics operation. This could involve warehousing, national and international transport by air, sea rail or road – or any combination of these elements.

Multi Channel Logistics
What are the judges looking for? This new category looks focuses specifically on logistics projects in the fast-growing multi-channel environment. These might include reducing the cost / improving the accuracy of fulfilment or new solutions to the “last mile” problem.

Sourcing & Procurement
What are the judges looking for? Projects to improve the performance of the procurement function through innovation and/or more effective management of the process.

Supply Chain Innovation
What are the judges looking for? Projects that demonstrate how the organisation is driving change by the adoption of new, innovative supply chain practice.


Individual Contribution
This award cannot be entered. The winner is voted for by readers of Logistics Manager following nominations from the industry.

Team of the Year
The winner of this category is chosen from entries received for both Industry Sector and Special Category awards.

To enter you first need to register at the Awards web site. You can then download an entry form and start the entry process.

If you want to find out what it took to be a winner last year, there is a section on the web site with articles on all the current category champions as well as the overall winners.

The deadline for entries is Friday, 4th June 2010. To find out more and download an entry form, visit the Awards web site:

Share this story: