Simply stunning! Is your supply chain that good?

LinkedIn +

Simply stunning – that’s how the judges described the winner of the Retail category in the European Supply Chain Excellence Awards last year. The company, of course, was Primark and it went on to become overall winner.

The question is, can your supply chain compete with that?

There are now just a few days to go to finalise entries for the European Supply Chain Excellence Awards 2011 ahead of the deadline on Friday, 15th July.

The Awards have already attracted a huge amount of interest so if you think your company’s supply chain is up there with the best don’t leave it too late to enter.

So, what does it take to win? Last year, Gordon Colborn, chairman of the judging panel said: “Primark simply have a stunning supply chain – Primark are now setting the standards in the sector and are out to ‘out Wal-mart’ Wal-mart in the supply chain. Primark are the fastest growing fast-fashion retailer in Europe and supply chain is a fundamental part of that growth. But, remarkably, the company runs a £2bn supply chain with just eight people. Their turnaround times are quite incredible – their supply chain is set up in such a way that products on the catwalk for London Fashion Week today will be in the store the following week.”

If you have got a great story to tell, why not download a free entry form and put your firm forward to be recognised for its achievements.

The 2010 awards broke all records – more entries than ever, more companies making it to the shortlist, and more people at the Awards Night than ever before. In fact, the evening was over-subscribed – packing the Ballroom at the Grosvenor House Hotel to capacity and prompting our move to a larger venue – the London Hilton – for the 2011 Awards.

The European Supply Chain Excellence Awards are organised by Supply Chain Standard in partnership with PRTM. They were launched in 1997 to recognise and reward organisations in Europe that demonstrate excellence in their supply chain operations.

There are two main groups of awards. The Industry Sector Awards recognise excellence in organisation and management of a complete supply chain. The Special Category Awards differ from the Industry Sector Awards in that they recognise excellence in the implementation of a specific project.


Industry Sector Awards
> Automotive, Aerospace & Industrial
> Consumer Products
> Hi-Tech, Communications &Electronics
> Public Sector, Services & Utilities
> Retail

Special Category Awards
> Contribution to Environmental Improvement
> Customer Service & Support
> Innovation in Supply Chain Practice
> Innovation in Use of Technology
> Logistics & Distribution Operations
> Logistics Strategy
> Sourcing & Procurement
> Training & Professional Development

> Team of the Year
> Overall Winner

Entry into the Awards is free – the deadline is Friday, 15th July 2011.

Register and download an entry form at

Share this story: