Time to fulfil that potential

LinkedIn +

Changing the logistics model can transform the prospects for an organisation. Take, for example, toy maker Lego.  Over the past few years has been transforming its business centred on the supply chain.

Ten operations were consolidated into one global logistics service centre located in the Czech Republic, serving 130 countries around the world on a five-day delivery basis. The number of logistics service providers has been cut from over 100 in 2004 to just 15 today, and a new agile, customer facing supply chain has been created with delivery performance rising dramatically.

It’s no wonder that Lego was the 2008 European Supply Chain Excellence Award for Logistics and Fulfilment. The judges said: “Lego has really transformed its entire logistics and distribution model. The company has improved capacity while flattening off peaks in demand and it has achieved this through the way it plans and distributes its product. Customer satisfaction has improved dramatically, responsiveness has increased, very significant savings have been made and the strategy is fit for the future.”

The Logistics and Fulfilment category is always particularly hard fought and Lego had to contend with excellent entries from: Argos in partnership with Kuehne + Nagel, BT Supply Chain, Donaldson Europe BVBA, Ekol Logistics, Electrabel, Ikea Distribution Service, NikeStore in partnership with Menlo Worldwide Logistics, and SEW Eurodrive GmbH & Co KG.

Now we are looking for the high achievers of 2009. There is everything to play for in the 2009 European Supply Chain Excellence Awards organised by Supply Chain Standard in partnership with consultancy PRTM.

The awards web site is open and the deadline for entries is 3rd July so there are just a couple of weeks to prepare your entry.

The awards are split into a number of categories – sector awards covering the key areas of trade and industry, and business process awards that recognise excellence in specific supply chain functions.

Industry Sector Awards

* Automotive, Aerospace and Industrial

* Fashion, Apparel and Luxury Goods

* Grocery and General Retail

* Hi-Tech, Communications and Electronics

* Public Sector, Services and Utilities

* Pharmaceuticals, Health and Personal Care

Special Awards

* Environmental Improvement

* Logistics and Fulfilment

* Sourcing and Procurement

* Supply Chain Innovation and Improvement

* Customer Service and Support

Recognition Awards

* Team of the Year

* Individual Contribution

The awards are presented at a glittering dinner at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel before an audience of more than 450 industry leaders. This year the dinner will take place on 12th November.

To enter you first need to register at the Awards web site. You can then download an entry form and start the entry process. You can also find out more about the companies that won Awards last year. The web site address is: www.supplychainexcellenceawards.com

Share this story: