Johanna is Journalist of the Year

LinkedIn +


Johanna Parsons, Supply Chain Standard’s senior reporter, has won the Journalist of the Year Award in the 2013 Seahorse Club Awards.

And reporter Rosy Hill was shortlisted for the Newcomer of the Year Award.

The awards attracted entries from major international news outlets such as the BBC, Reuters, South China Morning Post and The Economist, as well as business magazines.


The Seahorse Club is celebrating its 50th birthday this year, and the awards attracted a total of 182 entries from 71 individual journalists from the UK and abroad.

Nick Witear, communications director of Thomas Miller P&I which sponsors the Journalist of the Year Award, said: “The growth of varied and immediate channels for news and information is good for our industry, but quality editorial content has become even more important. Volume and variety are no substitute for accuracy and objectivity. The UK Club is delighted to support the Seahorse Club Awards that encourage and celebrate talent and hard work, but above all journalistic excellence.”

The Journalist of the Year award is awarded to the journalist who, in the opinion of the judges, contributed the most to the overall understanding of global transport issues. The judges look for an all round performance, with the winner showing penetrative interview skills and objective reporting of complex issues.

Share this story: