Telefónica O2 UK wins top prize at European Supply Chain Excellence Awards

LinkedIn +
[asset_ref id=”411″]

Telefónica O2 UK has won the overall award in the 2009 European Supply Chain Excellence Awards, organised by Supply Chain Standard in partnership with PRTM.

“Totally delighted,” is how an elated Nick Lefever, general manager of supply chain for Telefónica, described his team, which picked up the supply chain award for Hi Tech, Communications & Electronics, and a special award for Sourcing & Procurement – as well as the Overall Winner award.

“We wanted to show the industry what we could do. We were quietly hopeful that we would win something, but we never dreamed we’d win three. And to win Overall Winner is just unbelievable,” he said.

The evening prize-giving event was hosted by legendary television journalist Jonathan Dimbleby.

The Individual Contribution Award went to Peter Surtees of Kimberly-Clark who said he was “stunned”. “I’m very surprised. I seriously thought Nestlé would win. Chris Tyas is a great friend of mine, and I really thought he’d get it.”

Kimberly-Clark’s recent collaboration work with Kelloggs has been a highlight of the year, being the first real expansion on the collaboration theme since its work with Unilever. “I’m very single minded,” said Surtees. “I seriously believe that collaboration is the way forward for this industry.”

The awards this year have broken all records – more entries than ever before, more companies making it to the shortlist, and more people at the Awards dinner than ever before. In fact, the event was a sell-out – filling the Ballroom at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London’s Mayfair.


Overall winner – Telefónica O2 UK

Aerospace, Defence & Industrial – Daimler Trucks

Consumer & Retail – Carlsberg UK in partnership with Gist

Hi Tech, Communications & Electronics – Telefónica O2 UK

Healthcare & Consumer Products – Henkel

Public Sector, Services & Utilities – The Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Customer Service & Support – British Sky Broadcasting

Contribution to Environmental Improvement – Wallenius Wilhelmsen Logistics

Sourcing & Procurement – Telefónica O2 UK

Logistics & Fulfilment – IKEA franchisee Fourlis Group

Technology Enabled Innovation – Babcock – Networks Division

Supply Chain Innovation – GlaxoSmithKline

Individual Contribution – Peter Surtees, Kimberly-Clark

Team of the Year – Belron

Share this story: