Take on Europe’s top supply chains

LinkedIn +

Last year the Awards, organised by Supply Chain Standard in partnership with consultancy PRTM, attracted a record number of entries and this year even more entries are expected. What makes them unique is a stringent judging process which focuses on performance against five core disciplines of supply chain.

The Awards are presented at a glittering dinner at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel before an audience of more than 450 industry leaders. This year the dinner will take place on Thursday 18th November. The Awards are split into a number of categories – sector awards covering the key areas of trade and industry, and
business process awards that recognise excellence in specific supply chain functions.

Last year more than 60 companies were shortlisted for the awards. Telefónica O2 UK picked up the trophy for overall winner by demonstrating an outstanding level of performance across the five core disciplines of strategic supply chain management.

The Individual Achievement Award went to Peter Surtees, European supply chain director – consumer products at Kimberly- Clark for his work on developing collaborative operations with Kellogg’s and Unilever.

Collaboration was a major theme of the Awards last year, according to an analysis by PRTM of the detailed entries of more than 100 companies. Supply chain risk minimisation, not surprisingly, also figured as one of the most important strategic issues facing supply chain professionals.

When it comes to innovating the supply chain, most participants are looking at innovation opportunities that will improve their competitive advantage. In building the supply chain of the future, executives are focused on developing and implementing a strategy that aligns customer needs with product development and supply chain strategies to deliver competitive advantage. Participants noted other factors like a focus on cost containment (63 per cent), the increased role of technology (52 per cent) and sustainability as a strategic differentiator (36 per cent) as important.

Participants last year came from a wide range of sectors – including aerospace and defence, telecommunications, pharmaceuticals, retail and FMCG – and from a variety of countries: France, Germany, Ireland, Spain, Sweden, the Netherlands, Austria, Greece and the UK. Participating companies included Carlsberg UK, Daimler Trucks, Henkel, Cadbury, Lego, BSkyB and GlaxoSmithKline.

To enter you first need to register at the Awards web site. You can then download anentry form and startthe entry process.

If you want to find out what it took to be a winner last year, there is a section on the web site with articles on all the current category champions as well as the overall winners.

To find out more anddownload an entry form, visitthe Awards web site:www.supplychainexcellenceawards.com

Awards for key industry sectors and special categories

The Industry Sector Awards recognise excellence in organisation and management of a complete supply chain. Entries are scored on the five core disciplines of: supply chain strategy; processing systems architecture; supply chain organisation; performance management; and collaboration.

Aerospace, Defence, Industrial and Automotive
Consumer & Retail
Hi Tech, Communications & Electronics
Pharmaceuticals, Health and Personal Care
Public Sector, Services & Utilities

The Special Category Awards differ from the Industry Sector Awards in that they recognise excellence in the implementation of a specific project.

Customer Service & Support
Environmental Improvement
Logistics & Fulfilment
Sourcing & Procurement
IT Innovation
Supply Chain Innovation & Improvement

Individual Contribution
Team of the Year

Share this story: