The makings of a winner

LinkedIn +

The makings of a true supply chain winner in today’s shaky economic climate are a far cry from that of a year ago. To survive, indeed to thrive in the wake of such a jolt to the global economy businesses must not only be open to, but committed to change. 

Now that the boom times are behind us, for the present, the new focus and the new talent will centre on the management of cash flow. But it doesn’t end there. Collaboration will also play a key role and this requires a specific mindset.

It may not be enough anymore to fall back on the trusted and traditional methods of the past. It’s a time to pool resources, whether it be between suppliers, service providers, or even competitors, and capitalise on the supply chain synergies that can result from such a union.

Those companies with the ability to see and understand where the strengths and weaknesses lie in the supply chain and move swiftly to counteract them will be among those recognised as the best.

Now we are looking for the high achievers of 2009. There is everything to play for in the 2009 European Supply Chain Excellence Awards organised by Supply Chain Standard in partnership with consultancy PRTM.

The awards web site is open and the deadline for entries is 3rd July so there is one week left to prepare your entry.

The awards are split into a number of categories – sector awards covering the key areas of trade and industry, and business process awards that recognise excellence in specific supply chain functions.

Industry Sector Awards:
* Automotive, Aerospace and Industrial
* Fashion, Apparel and Luxury Goods
* Grocery and General Retail
* Hi-Tech, Communications and Electronics
* Public Sector, Services and Utilities
* Pharmaceuticals, Health and Personal Care

Special Awards
* Environmental Improvement
* Logistics and Fulfilment
* Sourcing and Procurement
* Supply Chain Innovation and Improvement
* Customer Service and Support

Recognition Awards
* Team of the Year
* Individual Contribution

The awards are presented at a glittering dinner at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel before an audience of more than 450 industry leaders. This year the dinner will take place on 12th November.

To enter you first need to register at the Awards web site. You can then download an entry form and start the entry process. You can also find out more about the companies that won Awards last year. The web site address is:







Share this story: